Off the radar and standing tall

Posted on July 5, 2012

2


I know I’ve dropped off the radar lately. It’s so long since I’ve written.
My work has expanded and I’m busier now than I’ve ever been.

  1. Pacific Partners (Christian radio and discipleship in the South Pacific Islands);
  2. Te Mana Programme (taking what we’ve learned in the Islands and working with schools, churches, Police, and social agencies to mentor at-risk families in West Auckland);

On top of that, a serious drop in my income means I’m back to doing some insurance underwriting (which I used to do many years ago). And . . . we have just sold our home in Auckland so the scramble is on to find a new one.

That’s why I’ve dropped off the radar lately.

I must take a moment to tell you about the Te Mana Programme.  

Te Mana (Maori word for stand tall) is run by the Te Kahukura Community Trust (in West Auckland, New Zealand).

Earlier this year I was contracted to develop the strategy that’s behind the Te Mana Programme, as well as its publicity materials and web site.

Te Mana is a very effective and exciting programme. It has been operating for a couple of years in schools in West Auckland, and its success with children at risk of expulsion from school, and their families, has caught the attention of the New Zealand authorities. Schools are asking for the programme to be expanded to help their at-risk families. So a grant was obtained and I was contracted to develop a strategy so the programme can be expanded and easily transferred into other areas.

One aspect of Te Mana that attracted me is the opportunity it provides to get Christians involved meaningfully in their local community.  A major part of our strategy is training volunteers from local churches to build meaningful relationships with the at-risk families. Relationships that may lead on to spiritual change in their lives.

We are seeing the lives of these young people and their families being radically changed by Te Mana. Now, I am also on the Te Kahukura Community Trust Board, which runs the programme.

Take a look at Te Mana. What do you think?

Posted in: Culture, Mission